Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

The Ingredients to a Good Weekend February 4, 2013

Filed under: Adventures in Diana's Kitchen — dianatierney3 @ 7:43 am
Tags: , ,

You know it’s going to be a good weekend when it begins with tea and books.  On Saturday one of my book clubs (there are 3 I am a member of) met at a lovely new café in Huntington Beach, called Café Caldo. It’s a lovely Steampunk themed café with a great laid back atmosphere.

This weekend was also a weekend for experimentation.  In the kitchen I tried my hand at making scones and Turkish Delight (yeah, that stuff that Edward eats in the Chronicles of Narnia).  The scones were fantastic especially for someone who never made them before. The Turkish delight, however was another story.  It was supposed to set after four hours…it’s been approximately 24hrs and it has yet to set. And perhaps that’s a good thing, from a few curious samplings I don’t think it would have been as delightful as the name would leave you to believe.  One day I may work my way up to making it again but for now I think this is a dish best left to the White Witch.

And what was all this experimenting for? Well today my anti-Superbowl Downton Abbey tea party. Anyone who knows me, knows I am a sucker for british broadcasting and from day one I was in love. I however, have no interest in the Suberbowl (especially the commercials). Yearly I find creative excuses to avoid watching it. This year’s excuse I think was the best by far.  Tea and the Dowager Countess? Way better than any touchdown play, not to mention the Matthew/Mary drama, like I said far more interesting. It’s not that I hate football, there is just not enough blood for me. What can I say? I’m a hockey girl.

So the menu for the tea: the sandwiches included Salmon and cream cheese; cucumber lemon mint, Chicken curry, egg salad and strawberry goat cheese on sweet bread.  Oh and my scones.  Luckily to replace the Turkish Delight fiasco, my friend Jeff brought some amazing brownies made by his partner Jason. Which, may be a requirement for them to bring every time they come over. I don’t know the recipe I just know that involved pineapple and cookie dough in the batter. I now have mixed feeling about the left-overs sitting on my counter.

I have to say it was an absolutely wonderful way to spend the afternoon. Not to rub it in people’s faces but today was a sunny 66. It felt very much like spring.

So I will leave you with my scones recipe. I hardly ever follow a recipe exactly, except when I make Turkish Delight and well we all know what happened with that.

Diana’s Cranberry Vanilla Scones

2 cups of Flower

1/3 cup sugar

1 tsp baking powder

¼ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

8 tablespoons butter

½ cup or so of dried cranberries

½ cup of half and half

1 large egg

1tbs vanilla

Mix the dry ingredients together. Put the butter through the big parts of a cheese grater directly into the dry ingredients. Mix together with your fingers.

In a separate bowl lightly whisk egg and half and half. Then stir into the dry ingredients

On a lightly flowered surface pat the dough into an eight inch circle and cut into triangles. Bake for 15 minutes at 350 degrees.

Interesting historical fact: The scone was created by a chef in Scotland by a chef from England that couldn’t pronounce the name of the castle that the pastry was named after. He said Scawn however it was called Scone.

My book pick this week is: Outlander by Diana Galbaldon. Part romance, part historical fiction, part time travel…a whole lot of enjoyable reading. (it was also what we were discussing  Saturday morning).

Well just like this weekend all good things must come to an end but at least this weekend ended like it began, enjoying friends and tea. Have to say I can’t beat that!

 

Leave a Reply

