Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

The 4th Doctor’s Scarf February 22, 2013

Filed under: Diana's Craft Corner,The Doctor — dianatierney3 @ 8:51 pm

The Scarf

After going to Gallifrey one, it is clear to see that the Scarf used by the fourth doctor is clearly the most popular of the doctor cosplay outfits. For just as many people wearing a Tardis outfit, there were another two people with the 4th Doctor scarf. As I mentioned before, and I REALLY don’t mean this to toot my own horn, my scarf was one of the better ones. So I thought I would spend some time sharing a few tips for those that are interested in making the scarf.

I used 100% wool. It was a little more expensive however, Angel, whom I made the scarf for and I agreed that this was the best way to get the colors and look right. These two websites http://www.doctorwhoscarf.com/ and http://www.craftycrafty.tv/doctor-who-scarf.jpg were the sites that I used to help me create the scarf. The first was best for the colors and a general how to. The second was able to give me the right blocking for the colors. They also had some great tips in the creating of the scarf.

One of the things that annoyed me was the use of bright colors, the scarf is in muted earth tones. There were some that had earth tones and then bright yellow colors, it drew much attention to the yellow and really detracted from the overall look of the scarf.

The size of the needle I used were US 10/6.0 mm with the wool this gave the right gauge. Also on that note, this scarf is garter stitched! Do not purl under any circumstances. I saw one that was purled and though the knitting was done well, it just didn’t look right. I love a good stocknitte stitch however, this most certainly a garter stitch and will not look right if done any other way.

Another major point in making the scarf, be conscious of your blocks. This scarf takes a lot of yarn overall, if you are coming up to a large block of color don’t be cheap, go ahead and start using another skein. Having lots of little knots all over the scarf will make it look messy.

This was a three month project for me. That included knitting literally all day on some weekends, for at least 2 to 3 hours in the evenings and on my lunch breaks from work. I come home, for lunch so often I would eat and then spend the rest of my lunch hour knitting it. And I didn’t even knit the full 12 feet. I only did 9, given that it’s wool, it will stretch over time and in the shaping process.

Shaping is very important. Take the time to wash and shape it. I shaped it literally by hanging it over my shower doors. Word to the wise: put down lots of towels! That beast can soak up a hell of a lot of water.
I am very proud of the scarf. I plan on making a shorter more user friendly version of the scarf for myself. I would be willing to do custom orders for others, however, it will take me 3 months and cost $200 per scarf to make.
So what’s next in my knitting queue? Well I am working on some Jayne’s hat inspired tea cozies, a replica Amy Pond scarf and a knitted dog for my husband. I want to give it a month or so before I tackle the Epic Doctor Who Scarf again in any shape or form.

 

Leave a Reply

