Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

In which I wish there was just one more day in the week February 25, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — dianatierney3 @ 6:10 am

Every few months there is just one weekend were everything seems to happen all at once. It’s as if it is a massive universe conspiracy to test how well I can manage my free time and patience. This weekend just so happened to be one of those weekends. As I sit here savoring my tea and watching a classic Dr. Who episode (Tomb of the Cybermen) I believe I weathered the weekend quite nicely.

Friday night was my Slowfood book club meeting. We read the book “Cheese and Culture.” I didn’t really care for the book itself, though I did enjoy an evening cheese, wine and good company.  And really how can you go wrong with cheese?

So my personal trainer challenged me to doing three sessions of cardio this week….yeah I don’t think that is going to happen. I was able to get one in yesterday, two miles at the Huntington Beach Central Park. That park happens to be my favorite. It has a lovely pond, wild life and one of my favorite restaurants in Orange County, the Park Bench Café. Though I avoided the café this week I did get some exercise in with my dogs. I have to say I am quite lucky to live in so cal where the temperature in early march is a brisk 65 to 70 degrees.

Saturday night proved that when you have good friends, it doesn’t matter how much time passes, when you get together, it feels like no time has passed. And if Saturday was a preview of what my Saint Patrick’s day will be, it will be a good Saint Patrick’s day in deed.

I had the crazy notion that I was going to be able to get another two miles in today but frankly sleeping in on a Sunday was all too important (getting home at midnight on Saturday didn’t help much…but I digress).

Today was the day of infinite driving. I drove up to El Monte for lunch with Grandma Tierney. I often feel guilty for not spending enough time with her but between an incredibly busy schedule and an hour drive to get to her it makes it hard to do more for her or with her.  At least I was able to spend a little time with her before I had to rush off for my steering committee meeting for Slowfood. (and just think, for every

And speaking of Slowfood I can’t wait to share some of the upcoming events that I am planning! Mark your calendars for Cal State Fullerton’s Annual Green Scene April 20th. It’s a great event with food, local gardening clubs, and all sorts of local Orange County artists. And that is just the start. 

And what’s on tap for next weekend? NOTHING! I have just over a week until the husband comes home for leave which means I have just over a week to get caught up on my house cleaning.  So this week I will be channeling my inner Martha Stuart whom I am sure is hiding somewhere deep down inside…right??

Well when I am not cleaning I do plan on reading.  I have a 75 book challenge though hanging over my head. So my book pick for this week is Etiquette and Espionage written by the wonderful Gail Carriger. I am already a few chapters in and so far it has been an enjoyable trip into her steampunk world.

 

Leave a Reply

