Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I would Recommend from Before I was a Blogger April 9, 2013

Filed under: Top Ten Tuesdays — dianatierney3 @ 12:44 pm

This Top Ten Tuesday’s Theme is the Top Ten Books I would recommend before I became a blogger. Given that I have been a book worm for as long as I can remember reading, this was a pretty easy list for me to put together, though I am sure I could probably go on for ages.

1.  Poison Study By Maria V. Snyder. The whole series is like a bag of lay’s potato chips, once you start you can’t stop. However, the first one is the best. I really liked the main character and the unique world we are introduced to.

 2.  The Constant Princess by Phillipa Gregory. A prequel to The Other Boleyn Girl, it shows Catherine in a whole other light that we don’t see in other pieces of fiction book or otherwise. I garnered a new respect for this historical woman after reading this book.

3.  The Hunger Games, all three. I really think that the good thing about the Twighlight backlash is that a number of books have come out that have strong, independently thinking kick ass female leads. Katness Everdeen certainly embodies that.

4.  A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan. Love love love this book! It has become one of my all time favorites. It’s a beautifully written book that was more than deserving of the Pulitzer prize. The book is written as individual stories from different points of view. When and how they blend together is just pure poetry.

5.  Cutting for Stone by Abraham Vergehese. This book speaks to the bond of brothers through the good and bad times. It was also my first introduction to Ethiopian culture and history.

6.  The Native Star and Hidden Goddess by M.K. Hobbson. It’s a two book series that is just lovely. It’s a Steampunk Magic Western American set book. See last week’s Top Ten Tuesday for my thoughts on Mr. Dread Naught Stanton.

7.  Soulless by Gail Carriger is one of my all time favorite books. Alexia Terraboti is a heroin after my own heart. It is such a well created world with distinct memorable characters.

8.  The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry This was a trippy book! It just sucked me in and it has such a twist ending that it literally took my breath away. The book also stayed with me for weeks after I finished it.

9.  The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck An amazing book on the human condition and life in California.

10.  Interpreter of Maladies by Jumpha Lahiri This book is a Pulitzer Prize collection of short stories that is just wonderfully written. Each story is unique and thought provoking with characters that you truly feel for.

What are some of your favorites? Feel free to leave a comment, I would love to hear about them! Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. To play along, link to their blog and post a link back to yours.

 

2 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I would Recommend from Before I was a Blogger”

  1. Poison Study is an amazing book! How did it not make it on my list – curses! Soulless was a great book, I especially like the manga versions. Great list.

    My Top Ten

  2. dianatierney3 Says:

    Thank you. there are so many great books out there that I am sure there are some that I am missing!


Leave a Reply

