Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I loved or hated more than I thought I would April 23, 2013

Filed under: Top Ten Tuesdays — dianatierney3 @ 11:20 pm
Tags:

toptentuesday

It’s bound to happen you hear about a book that everyone loves and you can’t wait to pick it up, or you come across that book on the shelf that you thought was just right for you and then you find that it’s nowhere near what you thought it would be. Likewise on the flip side there is always that one book you never expected to love that becomes your best friend.
1. Her Sky Cowboy. I really thought I would like this one but it felt like I was jumping in mid story and I did not find the characters very likeable. The first scene is the main character leaving a wretched dinner for a match her mother tried to make. You’re finding out about the dinner after the fact, and are trying to get entrenched in the world all at the same time.
2. The Iron Wryn Affair. I just found the core plot to be boring and could not connect to the characters at all. Both this book and Her Sky Cowboy are steampunk books. I am starting to wonder if I don’t like steampunk as much as I think I do…that’s a scary thought
3. The Princess Bride. The movie is my all time favorite movie ever. I thought I would love the book as much as the movie but no, not so much. The book is drastically different from the movie in the sense that it has a different feel from the movie and just does not at all feel like you’re reading a fairytale. More like a history book for school.
4. The Beekeepers Apprentice. I heard so many wonderful things about this book. So I decided to tuck into it, I really tried to like it. I promise I did. However, the main characters tone was just so very annoying!
5. The Life of Pi. The premise for the book sounded really lovely. It won lots of awards but I hated it. I think I dozed off roughly every three pages. I am going to give the movie a go though…
Ok, now on to the books I liked more than I expected to.
1. The Grapes of Wrath. I picked it up remembering how my friends from highschool complained about reading it. I never got to, my English teachers were Shakespeare aholics. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I was moved by this book.
2. The 13th Tale. I had seen it around, picked it up on a whim and could not put it down. It was a lovely story truly written for a book lover.
3. The Lace Reader. I discovered this book through Goodreads. I fell in love with the story and the characters. The ending had me reeling for weeks.
4. The Phantom of Manhatton. I don’t remember how I came across this book. All I know is that I loved it. It’s the sequal to the Phantom of the Opera. It’s wonderfully creative and gives a point of view that the fans of the musical never saw (and trust me will love)
5. Ghost Planet, I have my criticisms of the book but overall I really liked it. It was a Vaginal Fantasy book club pick, and though I love that book club the books are often hit or miss. This one was pretty on target.
Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. To play along, link to their blog and post a link back to

 

Leave a Reply

