Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Top Ten Tuesday: Things that Make me Instantly Pick up a Book April 30, 2013

Filed under: Top Ten Tuesdays — dianatierney3 @ 12:18 pm
Tags:

toptentuesday

There are certain trigger that make me at the very least pick up a book or add it to my To-Read list on Goodreads. To determine my most popular themes and triggers I went through my endless Goodreads to put this list together, I’ve also included some recommendations because frankly what would be a blog post about books without a few recommendations.

  1. Time Travel Whether it’s Jules Verne or Doctor Who, I love a good time travel story. I have to say this is my favorite science fiction theme. My all-time favorite time traveling book: The Time Machine. It is the time travel book that all time travel books must live up to in my head.
  2. Elves or Fairies. Whether it’s Lord of the Rings or A Midsummer Night’s Dream (take note, those are must reads) I love stories that have fairies and elves. They have such an interesting mythology built up and around them. They are such interesting creatures and no, they don’t do nice things like granting wishes…
  3. Gail Carriger. I have read all of her books and am basically at the point where if she just rewrote the ingredients on the back of a shampoo bottle I would read it. My favorite of her books: Soulless.
  4. If a book takes place somewhere Historical. I have a love of historical fiction. Primarily the American west (though I have read a lot of nonfiction in that period), the Tudors era and my current interest the Borgia. There are so many books under this topic I have a hard time picking books to recommend, there are so many that I love. If I had to choose I would go with “The Other Boleyn Girl” and the “The Bogia Bride” they are great examples of historical fiction.
  5. Food. I love food, I am an active member of my local Slow Food and have a passion for quality clean food. So naturally it has bled into my reading list. From both a fiction and a nonfiction stand point there are a number of books that examine what we eat, why we eat what we do and our relationship to said food. Currently from a nonfiction stand point, I recommend “Eating Animals” it takes a look at why we meat. It may or may not turn you towards being a vegetarian (it didn’t for my dad but reassured my decision for giving it up), however, it is a wonderful book that just asks Why? And looks at our whole food system from top to bottom. For fiction, I recommend the “Kitchen Daughter” it was a lovely book that exemplified how food can connect us to our history.
  6. Pulitzer Prize Winners. It is my goal in life to read all of the eighty something books. I’ve read about 12 or so, so far. There have been some wonderful gems that I have just fallen in love. The gems “A Visit from the Goon Squad” and “To Kill a Mockingbird” are my top two favorites from that list.
  7. Fairytale Retellings I have always loved Fairytales and reading a retelling just gives it a whole new life and love for me. The really good ones just give a whole new spin on the stories that I loved from my childhood, it’s like reading a grown up fairytale. My favorites from this topic are “The Story Tellers Daughter” the retelling of 1001 Arabian Knights and “Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister” a retelling of Cinderella.
  8. Steampunk. I love steampunk. Granted I don’t have a number of books in this genre that I really love. My favorite is “Soulless,” it’s a great steampunk, supernatural book with great characters also, please see point #3 for further explanation.
  9. Zombies. I do love me some brain eating, flesh rotting zombies. Whether it is on TV or by book I do enjoy reading about them. I love the Walking Dead graphic novels however, my all-time favorite zombie novel is “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.” This book combines two of my favorite things: Zombies and Jane Austen.
  10. Women who rise to the challenge. Hello, my name is Diana, and I am a feminist. I prefer my lead female characters whether they are in books, movies or video games to be strong women. Whether she is rising to the challenge or surviving some crappy situation I am all for it. And for my favorites? Please look at any of the books above…

What are some of your “triggers?” Feel free to leave a comment, I would love to hear about them! Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. To play along, link to their blog and post a link back to yours.

 

Leave a Reply

