Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

My Very First CSA! May 6, 2013

Filed under: Adventures in Diana's Kitchen — dianatierney3 @ 8:59 pm
Tags: , ,

So I recently signed up for a subscription to a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) box. Why are they so awesome? Well for one, they support local farmers.  Even better, you never know what you are going to get in your box. So it is this complete surprise every time I pick it up!

I’m currently doing an every other week subscription which I am sharing with my friend Becky.

This first CSA included:

Cauliflower

Spinach

Mixed greens

Mulberries

Carrots

Swiss Chard

Radishes

Sweet Potatoes

Fennel

Avocados

Oranges

Limes

And some leafy spice I have yet to be able to be able to identify

After the division of the box, I kept the greens, a few sweet potatoes, the cauliflower and the mulberries.  I am actually pretty glad that I passed on the Oranges because I got two bags full from my parents. (They have an orange tree)

So the next question I had was what to do with all of this food? I have to admit, I was a little timid with the cauliflower. The husband doesn’t like it, so I don’t buy it and it has been so long since I had it that I was afraid I wouldn’t like it. When crossing it’s path at even the most unsuspecting veggie tray I always quietly avoided them.  Given that I had no choice this time, I had to buck up and face my fear. I tried this recipe Spinach and Cauliflower Bahji it was a fantastic post rough work week comfort food.

Now, after the Great Sweet Potato Rage of 2011 I am over sweet potato fries, baked sweet potatoes and mashed sweet potatoes. So my challenge for this vegetable was to find a unique recipe. I discovered this Brazilian Black Bean Soup that was lovely for a wet and rainy Sunday night.

I am really happy with my CSA and can’t wait to see what will be in my next box.

 

One Response to “My Very First CSA!”

  1. Helen Shaw Says:

    I have some awesome cauliflower ideas that make it taste great…never would know it was cauliflower… yes they are vegetarian ones too… no meat included/


Leave a Reply

