Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Contemplating the Next Doctor June 2, 2013

Filed under: The Doctor — dianatierney3 @ 11:51 pm
Tags: , ,

Dr who vs chuck

As many people have read, Matt Smith has decided to step down as the Doctor at the end of the year. This point in the series is always very exciting. It’s what has kept the show going from the 60’s and gives it, its uniqueness.

I first started watching the show under Christopher Eccelstein, back when it premiered on the Syfy channel. I hadn’t watched any of the old shows yet so I was as new to this whole regeneration thing as Rose was. When it happened I was so angry! Christopher was my doctor, how could they change him on me? It took several episodes before I liked David I have to admit. And when it came to Matt, it took a full season for him to reach the esteem of David.

For those of you who aren’t Whovians, this is our Superbowl draft pick. This is when all of our ideas come out. Will they finally be ginger? Big name or an unknown? Male or female? This is the subject of much debate, and can lead to all out war that disturb your fellow restaurant patrons.

A few of the favorites as report by the Mirror (with full betting odds) are:

10/1 Russel Tovey (credits include British version of Being Human)
10/1 Rupert Grint (Ron Weasley in Harry Potter)
10/1 Martin Freeman (Bilbo in the Hobbit and Watson in Sherlock Holmes)
16/1 Billie Piper (Rose from Doctor Who….Sorry folks I just CAN NOT buy this one…it’s just creepy)
20/1 Tilda Swinton (the witch in the lion the witch and the wardrobe)
100/1 Jason Statham

Also named as favorites that people are talking about but not betting on through the Mirror:
Rory Kinnear (Bill Tanner in Skyfall)
Stephan Mangan (Billy Elliot, Episodes)
Tom Hiddleston (Loki)

These are all really interesting choices. The criteria I think that needs to be met is that he has to be at least in his late 20’s early 30’s to keep the younger viewers interested with the “hip” feel but yet not losing the older fans. Relatively unknown on a global scale, we can’t have a doctor stay on for one season and then go run off and go do a movie or two, leaving the show in a lurch. Likewise a well known may carry too much of their own weight, preventing the fandom from getting into the show. And they must have that swagger that is inherent in the character. For what is the Doctor with that special swagger?
My pick that meets the above criteria is Stephan Mangan. He isn’t well known on a global scale, he isn’t too young or old and reminds me a bit of Tom Baker. I am a huge fan of Tom Hiddleston but he is too well known and though I love the idea of the Doctor finally being ginger as played by Rupert Grint, he is way too young. And I am just not keen on the doctor being a woman. The current talked about major favorite is Rorey Kinnear but I just can’t see him with the swagger.

All this talk is just talk right now and that’s what makes it so fun. We’ll have to see what comes about at Christmas.

So tell me, what are your choices for the next Doctor?

 

4 Responses to “Contemplating the Next Doctor”

  1. You know my feelings! I think Tilda Swinton would be an awesome Time Lord – but she is probably too famous. I would love there to be a Ginger Doctor, but Rupert Grint would be too difficult to distinguish from Ron Weasley personality wise – same kind of goofy love of life. If they choose Billy Piper I will firebomb the production studio!

    Safest to chose an unknown!

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      Well word from an anonymous BBC person is that they are not opposed to a woman but there is currently none in the running.

  2. Geraldine Says:

    I really do not get how Billie Piper could be the Doctor. I’m sorry, but she was a companion, and in my opinion, one of the best! I don’t really get how she could be the Doctor, considering she’d already well known as a companion…

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      I couldn’t agree more. She was an amazing companion and making her a Doctor is just downright creepy. It would mean her ex boyfriend took on her form to be just like her…can you say stalker!


Leave a Reply

