Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Wishlist Wednesday #15 June 18, 2013

Olive Oil Doxie

From Goodreads:

Life is so unfair, and it sends many things to try Professor Dr Moritz-Maria von Igelfeld, author of Portuguese Irregular Verbs and pillar of the Institute of Romance Philology in the proud Bavarian city of Regensburg. There is the undeserved rise of his rival (and owner of a one-legged dachshund), Detlev Amadeus Unterholzer; the interminable ramblings of the librarian, Herr Huber; and the condescension of his colleagues with regard to his unmarried state. But when his friend Ophelia Prinzel takes it upon herself to match-make, and duly produces a cheerful heiress with her own Schloss, it appears that the professor’s true worth is about to be recognized .Maddening, idiotic and hugely entertaining, von Igelfeld is an inspired comic creation.

Why I want to read this:
The cover really just says it all: a one legged wiener dog and olive oil. What more could an Italian wiener dog owning book lover want? This book just sounds whimsical and fun. Just what’s needed for a fun summer escape.

Want to play along? Post your Wishlist Wednesday, add a link to the Pen to Paper Blog. Then go on their website and add a link to your blog. It’s just that simple!

 

6 Responses to “Wishlist Wednesday #15”

  1. Hah, cute title! Never heard about it before, looks good!
    Hope you get it soon!

    My WW

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      I discovered it over the weekend and picked it up. I plan on starting it after the Shinning Girls

  2. Belle Says:

    This sounds like a book that I would enjoy too. I agree, the cover is wonderful.
    My WOW…

  3. Lisa Says:

    Ha, love the cover and title! Alexander McCall Smith is one of those authors whose books I really should try, but he has so many that I never know where to start. Have you ready others by him? What do you recommend?

    Lisa
    My WW

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      I havent read any of his books yet. This will be the first, and its the 4th in the series. I will let you know how I like it

  4. B (@b_ls) Says:

    This one sounds interesting haha. I hope you get it soon!
    Brittany @ Spare Time Book blog
    My WW: http://sparetimebookblog.blogspot.com/2013/06/wishlist-wednesday-52.html


Leave a Reply

