Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Top Ten Books I have Read so Far this Year June 24, 2013

Filed under: Top Ten Tuesdays — dianatierney3 @ 11:34 pm
Tags:

toptentuesday

 

Can you believe it? We are already 6 months into the year. It’s seems like only yesterday that I was enjoying New Years Eve.  So from the #10 down to #1 favorite of the year here are my favorites so far.

10. Animal, Vegetable, Miracle  I enjoyed the overall message of the book. It’s also helped push me in a more sustainable food direction. You can see my review here.

9. Over my Dead Body. These books are my guilty pleasure. They are fun and fast read. It had been a while since I had visited Broken Heart Kansas, I’m glad I did.

8.  Red Shirts. This one was a surprise. I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did. It sucks you in and a must read for any science fiction fan out there.

7. Austenland. A quick and entertaining read. You can find my full review here.

6. The King Maker’s Daughter.  A plot twisting historical fiction with a fresh view on the cousin’s war.

5.  Dragon Fly in Amber. The third book in the Outlander series, need I say more?

4.  Eating Animals. The books pulls back the curtain on the animal farming practices in the United States and simply asks us why we eat the way we do.

3.  River of No Return. A fresh and novel take on the time travel troupe. I loved the story and am anxiously awaiting the sequel.

2. The Witch of Little Italy. Check out my full review here.

And drum roll please…. My favorite book for 2013: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Here is my full review, but the reason why this book gets the top honors is that it is truly a book written for book lovers and caused me to have a total disregard for my alarm clock the next morning.

There are two books though that I feel should get honorable mentions:

Breakfast at Tiffany’s because I finished it December 30, 2012. I have always been a huge fan of the movie, but it wasn’t until this past December that I was able to actually read it. I loved the way Truman Capote describes things and Holly…definitely more trouble in the book.

The Kitchen Daughter. This was just a charming little book. It’s the story of an Autistic women who loves to cook but soon finds that she is able to bring back people’s ghosts when she makes their recipes. I finished the book in December but discussed it for my Slow Food chapter’s book club in January. So it feels like it should be one of my 2013 books.

Interested in playing along? Post a link of The Broke and the Bookish in your post, then go ahead and post one on their page.

 

2 Responses to “Top Ten Books I have Read so Far this Year”

  1. ChrissiReads Says:

    I haven’t read any of the books on your list. I love your descriptions of them though 🙂

  2. Momma Says:

    Thanks for your reommendations I have downloaded the insurrgent series and started to read the first book… liking it a lot…..


Leave a Reply

