Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Top Ten Tuesday….ish…. July 10, 2013

Filed under: Top Ten Tuesdays — dianatierney3 @ 11:13 pm

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a bit late because I was at the movies last night watching World War Z. Very fitting for this week’s topic, I haven’t read the book yet. However, I do have to say I really liked the movie, even though, as I understand it, it’s nothing like the book. Sometimes a movie is able to take another view of a story that that the book didn’t.  It can simplify a story or add more depth. Or as a friend of mine once put it “The book made me think, the movie helps me blow off some steam.”

So here before you are my Top Ten Best Movie Adaptations

  1. The Princess Bride. I really didn’t care for the book but the movie is my all time favorite.  I think the reason for it is because the movie simplifies the story told in the book. It allows the viewer to really get behind the true themes of the story.
  2. To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s an almost exact adaptation of the book that couldn’t have been casted better. Gregory Peck is the perfect Atticus Fitch,
  3. 1,001 Arabian Nights. The ScyFy channel did an adaptation of the book as a miniseries and it was just wonderful. It was as true as possible to the story and well done.
  4. A Midsummer Night’s Dream.  I just love the 1999 version with Michele Pfieffer and Stanly Tucci, who plays the best Puck by far. It captures the play’s magic and romance and is one of my favorite movies.
  5. Pride and Prejudice. I am more of the Matthew Macfadyen portrayal of Mr. Darcy as opposed to Colin Firth’s, though Colin’s does have its attributes.
  6. Mansfield Park Just another lovely adaptation of a Jane Austen Classic.
  7. Sense and Sensibility. I enjoyed the book but I have to say that I liked the movie so much more.
  8. Jayne Eyre. Even though I enjoyed the book I found it to be a bit heavy and hard to get through. The movie made it more intriguing and easier to follow.
  9. Stardust. I am reading the book now. I have been a fan of the movie for a number of years and have just recently stumbled upon the book (I know I know, I feel robbed for not being an avid Neil Gaiman fan already) and it has been a welcome escape in these most recent stressful weeks.
  10. Much Ado About Nothing. I have always been a fan of the 1993 version. Kenneth Branagh is the quintessential Benedict. It wasn’t until Joss Wheden’s Much Ado About Nothing came out that I found a version of the play that could top the original.

So these are my favorite movie adaptations. Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. If you want to play along, post a link on their site to your blog and then post a link them from your blog.

 

Happy Reading!

 

Leave a Reply

