Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Book Review: The Weird Sisters August 5, 2013

Filed under: Book Reviews — dianatierney3 @ 11:18 am
Tags:

Pink House

TITLE: The Weird Sisters
AUTHOR: Eleanor Brown
Genre: Fiction

To say that the Andreas family is obsessed with William Shakespeare is an understatement. The bard is a part of their family, his stories integrating their daily lives. Mr. Andreas is a professor specializing in Shakespeare at the local university. The three sisters; Rose, Bianca and Cordelia, each named after a character in one of the plays.
When each of the sister come to a cross road in their lives they return home under the pretext of helping their ailing mother with a recent cancer diagnosis. Over the years the sisters have become so distant that they are practically strangers with their own secrets they prefer not to share. But with all those secrets under one roof, something of course has to break and a family has to deal with its issues.
This was such a lovely summer read. Every family has it’s issues and at times must circle the wagons. Each of the sisters have come to a point where they have to make life changing decisions, while learning to be themselves and accept their family members for who they are.
As a Shakespeare fan I loved that they often quoted lines from the plays. The father reminded me of my dad in many ways, with his obsession with all things Shakespeare(though my dad is more of the Dante’s inferno, J.R.R. Tolkien variety). I got caught up in the lives of the sisters at every turn of the page. Often wanting to yell at them in turn. I love books with a good family drama, this one is nicely done, there is no earth shattering revelations, no dirty little secret hiding in the closet, just real people, with normal real problems trying to learn how to get along. I do believe that the story would make the old bard proud.

 

2 Responses to “Book Review: The Weird Sisters”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I loved this book! I loved how different the three sisters are, and I definitely loved all the Shakespeare! What a way to grow up. 🙂

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      All the characters were so well created. I wish I could quote Shakespeare the way do. Sometimes growing up that way can bring about serious eye rolls, my father has bribed my siblings and I to name a son Dante because of his love of Dante’s Inferno


Leave a Reply

