Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Top Ten Tuesday: The Best Stand Alone Books August 5, 2013

Filed under: Top Ten Tuesdays — dianatierney3 @ 11:38 pm
Tags:

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is technically Books that I wish had sequels. As much as I like sequels, they are becoming the trendy thing in the literary world. Do we always need a series of books? It’s as if every book that comes out has to be a series. I mean sometimes it’s nice to read a single book that has a conclusion in and of itself that means that I don’t have to wait on bated breath for the next book in the series to finally come out (uh hem Deborah Harkness).
So I am going a bit against the grain today, today’s Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Best Stand Alone Books

1. The Lace Reader. I just love this book. It’s a complete book from start to finish. The ending had me thinking for weeks.
2. Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society. Another lovely book told through a series of letters. The ending left me with all sorts of warm fuzzies
3. The Thirteenth Tale. The story starts out innocently enough but then as it picks up a it tells this wonderful mysterious story with an ending that knocks the breath out of you that even I couldn’t figure out.
4. The Forgotten Garden. I just finished this one this morning. The story is complete and whole within its 500 pages.
5. Red Shirts. I can’t say much about this book, no matter what I say I feel like I am giving out some sort of spoiler. But I couldn’t imagine this book having sequels. It’s complete all on its own.
6. The Witch of Little Italy. This lovely little modern fairytale is perfect as just one book. Everyone’s story arc is wrapped up in a neat little bow.
7. Garden Spells A lovely summer little summer read. The story of two sisters and their family’s magical garden is perfectly told within this one book.
8. The Kitchen Daughter. The story of a woman with Aspberger’s Syndrome and her ability recreate recipes in a truly unique way that helps her gain a new sense of independence really does not need to have a sequel.
9. Middlesex. Such a beautiful poignant story. The author got his views across and created powerful characters within this one book.
10. A Visit from the Goon Squad. This truly is a beautiful book told in multiple perspectives that weave together in a way like no other. The book itself could not in any way shape or form be made into a series.

Sometimes just one helping fills you up. You don’t always need to go back for seconds. These are my favorite stand alone books. What are yours?

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. If you want to play along, post a link on their site to your blog and then post a link them from your blog.

 

6 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: The Best Stand Alone Books”

  1. Lucy Says:

    Guernsey Literary is such a cute read! I’d be up for a sequel.

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      If they did a sequel where would they go with it? There was already a happy ending and given the end of the occupation the setting would be totally different. This is why rereading books is so much like visiting a lovely old friend. We can go back and enjoy the experience all over again.

  2. readerbuzz Says:

    Yes. Well said. “Sometimes one helping fills you up. You don’t have to go back for seconds.”

    Here’s my TT post: I Poohpooh Sequels.

  3. Lisa Says:

    I like your twist on the topic! Lately, I’m trying not to get involved in new series at all. There’s something really lovely about a book that tells its story and is done! Redshirts is one of my favorites, too. So perfect! And I do need to get to The Forgotten Garden – it’s been on my shelf for over a year now. Great list!

    Lisa
    My TTT

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      The Forgotten Garden was a wonderful book. lol it’s funny that you haven’t gotten to it yet because I learned about it from you.

      • Lisa Says:

        Oh, that is funny! It’s one of these books that I was sure I wanted to read, picked up a copy, and then never made time for. Story of my life… must do something about that! 🙂


Leave a Reply

