Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Book Review: Ocean at the End of The Lane August 13, 2013

Filed under: Book Reviews — dianatierney3 @ 9:38 pm
Tags: ,

Ocean At the end of the lane

TITLE: Ocean at the End of the Lane
AUTHOR: Neil Gaiman
GENRE: Fiction
PAGES: 159

It’s hard for me to describe what happens in this book because I feel like anything I say will be a huge spoiler. A little boy in the English countryside meets the Hempstocks and stumbles into an adventure that will forever change his life.

This story is haunting. Just truly haunting. Our narrator is a little boy and it’s through his eyes that we explore this world. I have been a fan of Neil Gaiman, long before I knew I was a Neil Gaiman fan (I have loved the movies and “the Doctor’s wife” for quite a while). This book though is so well voiced that it reminded me of the stories that my friends and I would whisper to each other from our sleeping bags during a slumber party…only better.

The story reminds me of a cross between Stand By Me and an urban fairytale. It’s a story of courage, selfless love and magic. I highly recommend this book.

 

Leave a Reply

