Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

An Interview with Robin Burks, Author of Zues Inc. October 3, 2013

Filed under: Book Reviews — dianatierney3 @ 11:47 pm

Zeus, Inc.

About Zeus, Inc.

(Biting Dog Publications) -50 years ago, mysterious Zeus, Inc. CEO Joseph Brentwood saved the world from a major energy crisis by discovering a new unlimited energy resource. Now, in 2069, Mr. Brentwood has gone missing and private eye Alex Grosjean has been hired to find him. Alex’s search leads her through her own murky past and into the fantastical depths of Hell itself, where she discovers that no one is who or what they seem to be.

After reading this fun little book I got talk with with author Robin and ask her some questions about the book.

Being a fan of Greek mythology myself, I was impressed by how spot on you were with your mythology. How much research did you put into it?

Robin: I ended up doing a lot of research. I spent a great deal of time online at a website called Theoi.com – it’s one of the most comprehensive resources I’ve ever seen on Greek mythology. I also used a book called Crowell’s Handbook of Classical Mythology. For everything I wrote about the gods, I double-checked my sources because I wanted my story to be as close to the mythology as possible. I obviously took a few liberties here and there, but accuracy was very important to me.

I love how gods fit so well into the modern world, did anything inspire that?

Robin: I had a dream about the gods in the modern world and that’s really how this story started. I’m also fascinated with how science sometimes feels like magic and vice versa, and the two seem to work well together.

There is a bit of a blade runner noir feel to the story. Did the old PI mysteries from the 1930’s play a roll in shaping the book? (I know in my head I am picturing a blade runner esque world)

Robin: I had a dream about the gods in the modern world and that’s really how this story started. I’m also fascinated with how science sometimes feels like magic and vice versa, and the two seem to work well together.

Ok, so if you could be any one of the Gods in the pantheon which would you be?

Robin: I would have to go with Athena, especially the way I wrote her. She seems to be the wisest and least petty of the gods, and the others look up to her

In 6 words only describe your book

Robin: Supernatural futuristic crime drama fantasy.

In conjunction with the Zues Inc. book tour and Something Wicked This Way Comes check out below for your chance to win!

You could win ebook copies of Zeus Inc. , along with a $25 Amazon gift card. Even better? Winning is easy: see details on how to enter below.

To be entered to win:

  1. Pick up a copy of Zeus, Inc. for $2.99 at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, Kobo or anywhere else ebooks are sold.
  2. Enter the Rafflecopter contest below.

Robin Burks is not only a journalist for DVICE.com and RebelGaming.com, but also for her own site FanGirlConfessions.com.  Robin has just published her first novel: Zeus, Inc. with Biting Dog Publications and is working on its sequel The Curse of Hekate. A science fiction trilogy, The Book of Revelations, is also currently in the works. An internet addict, she can often be found on Facebook, Twitter and Google+.  She also loves to read , act, sing, play video games and travel. Robin currently lives in Missouri with her four cats. She also occasionally speaks French and loves Doctor Who. Visit Robin on her  website, Twitter, Facebook, Google+ or GoodReads.

 

Enter here:  Rafflecopter giveaway

Rainy Day Ramblings

 

7 Responses to “An Interview with Robin Burks, Author of Zues Inc.”

  1. Candace Says:

    The rafflecopter isn’t showing up, I’m guessing it’s because you have a wordpress blog, so you’ll have to have people click through to enter at the rafflecopter site. The link worked fine, but the code below it is showing on your post. Just a heads up!

    Thanks for hosting something for Something Wicked Returns!

  2. Robin Burks Says:

    Thanks so much for being the first stop on my tour and for doing the interview!

  3. A short, but very informative interview with those who haven’t read Zeus, Inc yet. I have and highly recommend it – a great read with coffee (whatever) sitting at your favorite reading spot.

  4. […] An Interview with Robin Burks, Author of Zues Inc.. […]

  5. […] friend (and Author) Robin Burks as […]


Leave a Reply

