Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

In Regards to Spoilers December 2, 2013

Filed under: Fan Girl Awesomeness — dianatierney3 @ 8:41 pm
Tags:

An interesting thing has occurred in our society, we have become obsessed with spoilers. Walk into a room with two or more people and just mention Game of Thrones, Walking Dead or Breaking Bad and there is guaranteed to be one person who is not up to date with the show (they are at least a season behind) and because of that they will yell and turn slightly red in the face because you very well just might give up part of the story to them.

On the other end of the spectrum, there are those that feel the need to live post about the show as it is happening. So I haven’t been able to get to my television yet because I am at work, stuck in traffic or am in a different time zone.

I used to be a fan of Hell’s Kitchen, cooking show competition how could I not love it? I also had a friend that loved to post who got kicked off or tell the world who won…as it happened. The problem? He was in Texas, I am in California so he got to see the show a full hour before I did. Needless to say the show was so ruined for me that I stopped watching the show all together and have not watched it since (I even brought this up to him that he was ruining it but it did nothing).

Ok, you can say that to go off social media. That is easier said than done in today’s social media engrossed society. But saying stay off social media is the equivalent to saying don’t go outside if you don’t like cigarettes. Sure, you can post whatever you want in your little corner of the internet as well but remember if others don’t like it they don’t have to come around…

How about the fact that we have taken to hiding behind the internet as an excuse for our bad behavior? Rudeness is rudeness whether it is typed or spoken.  Just as we have guidelines for how to act properly in society these are my proposed guidelines for dealing with spoilers.

  1.  If something important happens in a show such as someone dying, getting knocked up or performs a miracle do not go blurting it out for the world to see as soon as it happens. If it’s news to you it’s news to everyone else as well.
  2. Be aware of the time zones of your friends assuming you want them to stay your friends. TV shows are not like sporting events, they are not broadcasted live in every time zone at the same time. I am sure you have wonderfully witty things to say, it’s why we are friends but give me a chance to watch the show too.
  3. If you really have to throw out those spoilers please give people some warning (like saying excuse me when you burp) just a simple SPOILER ALERT in the post and the spoilers in the comments so that if I look it’s my bad. Not yours.
  4. Just like there is a statute of limitations in law, there are statutes of limitations on show spoilers. If you are a full season behind in a show and everyone else has seen the show you cannot complain about the spoilers.
  5. If you really really want to discuss the show with someone, do what we used to do back in the day: Pick up the phone and send a text, a message or a phone call to said fan.

Like Death and Taxes, spoilers are a part of life. They are going to happen no matter what we do. I personally don’t like to discuss tv shows in social media for 48 hours. Most fan pages wait a good 72 hours before they start posting. I also wait about a week for movies.

At the end of the day it’s just a matter of consideration of others which is arguably missing in today’s society.

 

4 Responses to “In Regards to Spoilers”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I absolutely agree about social media and live tweeting (etc) about shows as they happen. I have to remind myself to “get off the internet!” certain nights of the week, especially before shows like Survivor, where people seem to tweet the results the second they happen. I hate stumbling across spoilers for something just because I live on the West Coast! I try to be sensitive on the statute of limitations issue — some of my coworkers wait to watch everything on Netflix, and I’ve felt awful about blurting something about the current episode of Sons of Anarchy only to find that they’re still on season 2!

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      If someone is a full season behind that’s their bad. But the other night i had the walking dead mid season finale spoiled for me BEFORE it even finished airing.

      • Lisa Says:

        That sucks. But I’ve had enough experiences like that that I make sure I’m off social media when east coast viewing starts — most of the time. Certain shows seem to have the most awful spoiler-sharing fans — tweeting about character deaths as they happen, etc.

      • dianatierney3 Says:

        You see and that’s the thing, it’s getting harder and harder to stay off of social media. I got on to check some pictures i posted and message my husband. because facebook is the only way we are able to talk. The girl was on the west coast too, so it had JUST happened for the people who were watching it live, and those of us who had no choice but to DVR it because of the longest car ride home ever were just tough out of luck. Another friend had it ruined because she was working when it originally aired, she was watching it when she got home that night and had it spoiled by someone (again another fellow west coaster)


Leave a Reply

