Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

My Breakdown of The Day of the Doctor December 6, 2013

Filed under: The Doctor — dianatierney3 @ 9:51 pm
Tags: ,

Image

**Caution this post contains major Spoilers**

Do not read any further if you have not seen The Day of the Doctor…. You have been warned.

I know I am a bit late but I wanted to make sure people had the opportunity to watch the show before I spoiled it. ( I am not one of THOSE fans) I also wanted to make sure I had enough time to properly digest the awesomeness of this special.

“Great men are forged in fire. It is the privilege of lesser men to light the flame.”

Besides showcasing everything that I love about Steven Moffat’s writing, this episode goes down in the top ten most important episodes of the new series.

Let’s see where to begin.

First off the subject of Gallifrey. My father is a fan of the classics and has recently started watching the new episodes and he keeps asking “But what about Gallifrey?” In the original series, the Doctor travels and interacts with the other Time Lords quite a bit. When we are introduced to the Christopher Eccelstein’s doctor we find that his world was destroyed in a great time war. Throughout the course of the series we learn that he is in fact responsible for this.

Now listen up kids, because this is where it gets tricky:
As I have mentioned before, the Doctors meeting up is nothing new. So way back in the day the rule was brought up that the past doctors forget what happened. Back to this most recent special, the War Doctor or now our 9th Doctor, will think that he did in fact wipe out Galifrey because he remembers going for the button and now the planet is not there. Likewise, it’s time locked, he can’t go back and change it even if he wanted to.

This is a brilliant bit of writing on Moffat’s part.  The Time War was something that came about through fan fiction. He has been able to write around it while at the same time respecting the work that has come before him. Is it a bit duce ex mana? Yeah but in reality there was no other way to get around the war without stomping all over the work of those who have come before him.

Likewise this opens a whole new door of storytelling.  As much as I love the show’s writing, the story of Clara and the Doctor is at serious risk of repeating another Rose and Doctor romance.  Sidenote: It’s part of the reason why I like the casting of Peter Capaldi as our next Doctor.  Anyway, this sends the show in a whole new storyline trajectory. No longer is our Doctor meaninglessly traveling around space. He has a new purpose, to find his people. This also ties in with David Tenants final episode, btw.

We also have the possibility of seeing some old favorites come back around *cough cough* Romana *cough cough* as the 4th Doctor said “in the years to come you may find yourself revisiting a few but maybe just the old favorites, eh.” That is such a big hint that as my grandma used to say: if it was any bigger it would reach up and bite you in the face.

The other thing that I love is the show’s major nod to it’s past. All 13 doctors showing up at the end and the wonderful talk between the 4th and the 12th Doctor. I actually think that is my most favorite part of the show. “Perhaps I was you of course, or perhaps you are me…congratulations.”I think that was the one thing that had me cheering more than Bad Wolf and a bit in teary eyed. It was a beautiful way to tie in one of they most popular Doctors in the shows history.

The episode worked within the confines of the current cannon of the show and managed to expand the Doctor Who universe infinitely.
“I have a new destination. My journey is the same as yours, the same as anyones. it’s taken me so many years, so many lifetimes but at last I know where I’m going, where I’ve always been going. Home…the long way around.”

It’s going to be an exciting few years.

 

2 Responses to “My Breakdown of The Day of the Doctor”

  1. I ADORED Day of the Doctor! I almost wish that Moffat would have ended Matt Smith’s reign on that episode. It was such a great ep. We actually went and saw it with all the other fans at the movie event. This one is definitely a “must own” in my book! I literally squee’ed when Tom Baker came on screen!

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      That would have been cool but I think it would have detracted a bit from the story and Matt’s chance to shine. Because that’s what a lot of that was. And OMG I squeed too when I saw Tom Baker on the screen. I loved that they featured him in that way.


Leave a Reply

