Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Top Ten Books on My Winter To Read List December 10, 2013

Filed under: Top Ten Tuesdays — dianatierney3 @ 9:19 pm
Tags:

toptentuesday

 

A Snuggly puppy, a hot cup of tea and a good book goes a long way in making those cold winter nights much better. And yes, we d get a cold in Southern California.

 

1.  Outlander Drums of Autumn. I am going through some Clare/Jaime withdrawals.

2. The Warlock’s Curse. I was so excited to find out this book existed. The first two books in the series, Native Star and Hidden Goddess are two of my favorite steampunk books.  I am so excited that the series is continuing and that I will finally (in theory) be getting to them.

3.  Touch of Power (Healer #1) I love Maria V. Snyder’s Study trilogy and am looking forward to this dark YA.

4. Longbourn. Pride and prejudice as seen through the eyes of the servents. It’s like Downton Abbey meets Pride and Prejudice SWOON

5.  Tequilla Mockingbird. So it’s not really a novel but it’s a book with cocktails based on literary classics. If the name tells you anything it looks like it will be a wonderful book.

6. Tomorrow There will Be Apricots. What’s better than reading about families more messed up than my own  than during the holidays?

7.   The Distant Hours. I have fallen in love with Kate Morton’s books over this past year and this book looks to continue my love affair.

8.  Chocolat. Yeah I know I am joining the band wagon late on this one but its time to knock this baby off my list.

9. The Shipping News. I am still slowly working my way through the Pulitzer Prize list, this one looks like it will be a good one to read next.

10. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer.  Nothing better than a good thriller on a cold and windy night.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and The Bookish. Want to play along? Check out their blog for more details.

I’d like to take a moment to thank everyone who reads this blog. This is my 100th post. I love this blog, sharing my geeky little bookworm world with all of you.

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Top Ten Books on My Winter To Read List”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Congratulations on #100! It’s always a pleasure to read your posts! Nice picks for this week’s top 10 — Drums of Autums (very big swoon…)! I really enjoyed Longbourn, and I’ve been wanting to give Kate Morton a try too. Enjoy!

  2. LadyInRead Says:

    have to read most of the books on your list but #5 caught my eye too when I saw it on Goodreads.. And Chocolat – well, I have it on my TBR forever ..and Shipping News sounds interesting as well. Mine is here –
    http://myrandrspace.blogspot.com/2013/12/yummy-tummy-tuesday-cake-anyone.html
    And while you are there, there is a delish giveaway to enter as well if you want
    Congrats on your 100th post. This is my first visit here and I will return..


Leave a Reply

