Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Top Nine New To Me Authors of 2013 December 17, 2013

Filed under: Top Ten Tuesdays — dianatierney3 @ 9:31 pm
Tags: ,

toptentuesday

This year has been a great year for discovering new authors. Here are my Top Ten Favorites of the year that I have discovered that I love (and you should check out if you haven’t read any of their work go check them out with the handy dandy links I have included)
1.  Patricia Briggs. She is the author of the Mercy Thompson series which I have fallen in love with. She writes a great heroine (think Lost Girl), entertaining supporting characters with some serious page turners. I am glad I finally got off my butt and started reading the series.
2.  Shannon Hale. Her Austenland books are my dirty little pleasure. Fun light reads that really speak to my inner Jane Austen fan girl.
3.  Jessica Brockmole. You can see my interview with her here. It’s a great historical romance.
4. Bee Ridgewater. Her debut book The River of No return was such a great book and a great an initial book in a series.
5.  Jess Walter I fell in love with his writing in Beautiful Ruins, he writes really complicated defected charecters that you can’t help but relate to.

6.  Suzanne Palmeri-Hale. I was introduced to her writing through The Witch of Little Italy which became one of my favorite books of the year.
7. Kate Morton. I think between the two books of hers that I read this yeah but my favorite so far has been The Forgotten Garden. I really haven’t been in this in love with historical fiction since I first discovered Phillipa Gregory.
8.  Diana Galbadon, now technically I started reading the Outlander series at the end of last year but frankly in my opion it was close enough and I read the second and third books this year. I recommend checking it out now before the Star Series comes out.
9.  Neil Gaiman. I thuroughly believe there was a mass conspiracy keeping his books from me for all of these years. I am now doing my best to play catch-up. I have yet to come across a book of his that I don’t love.

 

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and The Bookish. Want to play along? Check out their blog for more details.

 

5 Responses to “Top Nine New To Me Authors of 2013”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Wow, you’ve got a lot of my favorites here! I love Patricia Briggs (Mercy is one of the best heroes in urban fantasy, hands down!). Bee Ridgway was #1 on my list this week! I really loved Letters From Skye and Beautifu Ruins as well… and well, Outlander is just about my favorite thing (except ice cream)… Great list!

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      Yeah I saw bee ridgeway on your list, her first book was such a great debut. I love that a number of the authors I have on my list are debut authors because that means I will get more of their books next year! I fell in love with Mercy, she is such a great hero.

  2. Cassie Says:

    I hear so many good things about Jess Walter, I really want to read Beautiful Ruins now! I read Neil Gaiman for the first time this year too. I agree with the conspiracy.

  3. Cassie Says:

    I feel the same conspiracy about Neil Gaiman. For sure. Kate Morton is amazing. I love her.


Leave a Reply

