Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Goodbye 2013….Hello 2014! January 1, 2014

Filed under: Fan Girl Awesomeness — dianatierney3 @ 12:11 pm

Happy new year

 

Believe it or not, it’s already 2014. I have to say that 2013 was pretty good, I’m a little sad to see it go but am looking forward to the new chapter getting started. Besides getting this blog started here are a few things I was able to do last year:

What I accomplished:

I did a lot of knitting, most of which were presents. Baby showers birthdays and the like.

I found my way into a few new hobbies, because of course what I need is a few more things to occupy my time. However, I have found quite a bit of fun in food swapping and an excuse to can more things.

Book wise, I managed to reach my secondary goal of reading 65 books, though fell slightly short of my original goal of 75 books (73 in total)

In addition to that, I had plenty of adventures from traveling to Costa Rica and picking up a new furry family member.

What I am going to do in 2014:

More Camping! The husband is back so I am looking forward to some camping excursions. There are still a few places on my to-camp list that I need to visit as well as knocking off a few more trails at Yosemite.

For the blog I want to post more on food. I am always in the kitchen cooking something up and it’s about time I share some of my recipes.

I will finally finish my 7th Doctor scarf. Not sure if it is going to happen in time for Gallifrey one this year, I got too distracted over the course of last year. I also just agreed to ghost write some knitting books that will be taking up most of my time over the next 5 weeks. (Yay! First “grown up” writing gig!)

This year’s book challenge is only 50 books. I have plans to read some much longer books this year. (ie another Game of Thrones and another Outlander or two)

And even more adventures!

Well 2014 isn’t going to make itself awesome all on its own, time to get off my couch and do something.

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes. Because if you are making mistakes…you’re Doing Something” – Neil Gaiman

 

4 Responses to “Goodbye 2013….Hello 2014!”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Congratulations on your knitting books! And happy new year! Any hear that involves camping and Yosemite trails sounds pretty awesome to me. 🙂

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      Thank you! Now that I am actually getting started I feel a little overwhelmed but I am making progress. I can’t wait to get out and go camping again, I don’t think I went at all last year. The husband and I have a book of day trails for yosemite, our life goal is to finish all the trails.

      • Lisa Says:

        Wow, that’s a fantastic goal! I’ve only done a few, but I’m overdue for a trip to Yosemite (last one was about 4 years ago), and I’d love to explore more!

      • dianatierney3 Says:

        Its been 2 years since we last went and have done a handful of the trails so far.


Leave a Reply

