Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

A Perfect Day for a Food Swap January 26, 2014

Filed under: Adventures in Diana's Kitchen — dianatierney3 @ 2:12 pm
Tags: ,

I am really lucky to live in Southern California, while the rest of the country is buried in snow and freezing we are enjoying warm sun. Today though felt like fall which is in California terms is a high of 71 and only partly sunny.  Perfect weather for a Central Orange County Food Swap.

Food swap 1-26-14

So for this Food Swap I brought a fairly small cache of goodies with me. I had a dozen small jars of Limón cello, which is incredibly easy to make by the way, stay tuned for my recipe. It has been aging for at least a year. To be honest I lost count how long it had been aging but I pulled it out yesterday to taste test and sweeten up.

I’ve also started experimenting with making my own seasoning salt. It’s turned out to be incredibly easy and a wonderful way to use up some left over herbs. I also had some pickled pears that were left over from my last food swap that I wanted to get rid of.

So basically my main trading item was the alcohol and I had some non-alcoholic stuff for trade just in case some “non-lushes” wanted to trade.

I was actually surprised by how fast the Limón cello went. I ended up with a pretty good haul. Pictured below is Beer and Charcoal Soaps (a gift for the husband), homemade laundry detergent, salsa, BBQ Sauce, quinoa salad, spaghetti sauce, chips, cookies and lemon syrup. Not too bad if I do say so myself.

My loot 1-26-14

So before I have even planned my next projects, I have already signed up for my next swap in Ontario, California in early March.  Time to start planning!

If you are interested in joining up with a food swap check out the Food Swap Network for a swap near you. But I warn you, food swapping can easily turn into a delicious addiction….

 

Leave a Reply

