Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Top Ten Books that Trigger the Waterworks February 3, 2014

Filed under: Top Ten Tuesdays — dianatierney3 @ 10:50 pm

toptentuesday

There are certain books that are written so well that they either make you cry or want to cry, whether they be tears of joy or just sincere sadness.

  1. The Last Chinese Chef: This sweet story about secrets, unfinished business and family will certainly bring a tear to your eye.
  2. The Book Thief: You know what happens before the end of the book but it still made me cry like a baby.
  3.  Beautiful Ruins: Such a bitter sweet story of friendship. It will bring happy tears to your eyes.
  4. The Forgotten Garden: this is just such a beautiful twisted story of love and loss.
  5. The Kitchen Daughter: Nothing like the story of two sisters trying to navigate life to make you feel all sorts of mushy stuff.
  6. Cutting for Stone: Brotherly bonds, loss and that sort of thing.
  7. Memoirs of a Geisha: Such a sad and beautiful story.
  8. Middlesex: One of my all time favorites. This story of a person struggling to connect with who they are is a tear jerker in a good way.
  9. Marley and Me: Anyone who has owned a dog will feel the joy and sadness when it comes to this book.
  10. The Color Purple: Another sister relationship story that trandsends  time and space.

Want to play along? Post a link to The Broke and the Bookish and then go on their website to post a link to your blog.

 

6 Responses to “Top Ten Books that Trigger the Waterworks”

  1. Doris Elysia Says:

    So many tearful books. Ahhh I didn’t read Marley and Me but the movie did make me cry. I can only imagine the feels from actually reading it ;/
    Here’s our TTT
    Doris @ OABR

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      Marley and me should be one of those books that are required reading before you get a dog. It helps prepare you for some of the good and bad things that comes with owning a four legged baby.

  2. Lisa Says:

    I loved Beautiful Ruins! You’ve got such good ones here, including some older favorites like Middlesex and Memoirs of a Geisha. I’d like to read The Last Chinese Chef — I read Lost in Translation by that author years ago, and I’ve been wanting to read more by her. Great list!

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      The Last Chinese Chef was the first one of her books that I read. I thought for some reason her books weren’t really my thing but it was required for my book club (one more reason why book clubs are so good). I need to read some more of her books now. I loved Middlesex, it’s one of my favorite books and memoirs of a geisha just tugged at my heart strings. Some books no matter how old they are still need some good promotion. 🙂

  3. I havent read any of these yet!! Although The Book Thief is on my shelf waiting for me to pick it up! I plan on reading it soon!! Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

    xo, Becca @Pivot Book Reviews


Leave a Reply

