Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Geeking Out over the Olympics February 5, 2014

Filed under: Fan Girl Awesomeness — dianatierney3 @ 11:57 pm
Tags:

Every two years when the Olympics rolls around I completely geek out. The husband and I watch every sport: Hockey, bobsled, the luge….even curling just to name a few.

The festivities for the Olympics start off with a potluck where each guest picks a country to represent as we watch the opening ceremonies. I for one will be preparing a few Russian dishes. I just read “Mastering the art of Soviet Cooking” (expect a review in the coming weeks) and have had my heart set on making Kulebiaka. I have never had it before, never seen it but for the love of god the author made the dish sound like it was the best thing in the world. I must have it now.

So what sports in particular am I looking forward to? Well hockey for one. We have  a great team lined up. Zach Parise, our captain, is a great hockey player. Even though his team recently beat my Ducks, I think I can set that aside for a US gold metal. And then we have Ryan Miller, who I am hoping and praying comes to the Ducks as our goal tender. So very exciting!

Snowboarding has come a long way. I have been a fan of Shawn White since I met him back in the day when he came to Disney’s California Adventure for an expo on skateboarding.  I am a little sad to see that he will only be doing the half pipe now but at least it’s the event that he is favored for.

My other most watched sports are the speed skating and a number of skiing events.

Outside of the US Team I am thoroughly excited that Jamaica will be participating in the two man bobsled.  I love the team not just for the fact that it was a great move but come one, Jamaica has a bobsled team. Pulling themselves together to get a bobsled team together from a tropical island is one of the ultimate sporting stories.

Of course, you can’t talk about the Sochi Olympics without touching on the controversy. When it comes to the LGBT issues, I at first wanted to boycott. But then I thought about it, our athletes have worked so hard to get to this point, no matter what their orientation. I want to be there to support them. Likewise, everyone is equal on the sporting field…I want to see America kick some serious ass!

 

Leave a Reply

