Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Recap of Gallifrey One 2014 February 16, 2014

Filed under: Fan Girl Awesomeness,The Doctor — dianatierney3 @ 7:12 pm
Tags: ,

As I sit here sipping my tea looking over my pictures from the weekend I can’t help but think of how great of a weekend it truly was.

Yup, that’s my name in the top center column! It was the first of my two panels (my second one was on crafting).  Being on the panel was a fun experience. I think I may do it again next year.

IMG_0524

 

So as I mentioned I was planning on doing some cosplaying. Here is my Captain Jackie Harkness:

IMG_0539

I am really proud of how it turned out. I think I was a unique Jack.

Of course I wasn’t the only one cosplaying this weekend. Here are some photos of some other great cosplayers from this weekend:

IMG_0529

Because of course Mary Poppins is a Time Lady!

IMG_0545

Jackie and the Doctor

IMG_0547

The Doctor and his Daughter (my friends Angel and Becky)

IMG_0540

My friend (and Author) Robin Burks as Rose

Of course you never know who you will run into in the dealer room:

IMG_0543

Yes that is THE Chris Hardwick, my favorite Nerdist Podcast Host. I also got to meet Chloe in person and let me just say she is just as nice and adorable in person as I thought she would be.

In between shopping, plays, interviews and panels I got to meet some pretty awesome people that have had a hand in making Doctor Who the awesome show that it is today. Gallifrey One had a special brunch where I got to have eat with members from the original show. How could I turn that down brunch AND Doctor Who, two of my favorite things all rolled into one delicious event.  Here are a few pictures of some of the people I got to have brunch with:

IMG_0550

This is Frazer Hines, better know as Jaimie from the highlands during the Patrick Troughton years (the Second Doctor).

 

IMG_0556

The lovely Deborah Watling, also known as Victoria another companion of the Second Doctor.

In addition to getting to meet Deborah and Frazer, I got to meet Colin Baker (the 6th Doctor), Matthew Waterhouse (Adric), and Terrance Dicks (sp?), a script editor for the show.

Here are a few other pictures from my adventures this weekend:

IMG_0527 IMG_0528 IMG_0532 IMG_0555 IMG_0554 IMG_0542

All in all it was a great weekend. Needless to say I am exhausted. So if you will excuse me, I am going to go get some more hot water for my tea and cuddle with one of my pups.

 

6 Responses to “Recap of Gallifrey One 2014”

  1. Oh my goodness! If you could see my color right now, you’d see that I am green and so incredibly jealous! What an awesome weekend! Looks like so so much fun and you met Mr. Nerdist himself and Chloe! (I just love her! I’m super bummed that I didn’t get to meet her the weekend before at NOLA CC!)

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      Yeah I was just looking at books in the dealer room and I turned around and they were there. Chloe is just as wonderful in person as she is on TV.

  2. Lisa Says:

    Looks like a fabulous weekend, and I love the Jackie Harkness look! Thanks so much for sharing.

    • dianatierney3 Says:

      It was. I am still in recovery mode from it. I like how captain Jackie came out as well. I think I will keep it going and build on it. Maybe eventually getting his coat. It was funny, it was the first time in a long time I was in a mini skirt. I felt a bit awkward at first, you know, doing the incognito pull the skirt down bit….

      • Lisa Says:

        LOL. It’s really terrific — but yes, the coat is something pretty remarkable too, if you can find the right one. 🙂

      • dianatierney3 Says:

        I think I will have to wait for a women’s version of the coat or have one made. I like the one he wears but I think it would be better to make it tailored to a female figure


Leave a Reply

