Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Top Ten Book Club Recommendations February 25, 2014

Filed under: Top Ten Tuesdays — dianatierney3 @ 12:42 pm
Tags: ,

toptentuesday

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is a pick your own from a past top ten Tuesday so I decided that since I lead a book club and have been a part of book clubs I would choose the Top Ten Book Club Recommendations.

The qualifications for a good book club book is one that fits with the style of the club and has plenty of points to discuss. There have been a few times at a book club meeting where we were just dumbstruck about trying to talk about the book. So here are my ten books that I would recommend to for a book club.

1. I Shall Be Near to You: The book is a charming historical fiction with many talking points, from our main character heading out to the war dressed as a man to the well developed characters she encounters in her adventures.

2.  Longbourn: This take on the classic gives loads of comparing and contrasting talking points.

3.  The Last Chinese Chef: So many emotions in this book. So much culture clashing. My book club had a wonderful discussion over this book.

4.  Beautiful Ruins:  Again historical back drop, well developed characters and beautiful story. Great for sitting around a table with a bottle of wine.

5.  Mastering the Art of Soviet Cooking: If your book club is anything like my book club where we make recipes based on the books we read. This is a great book for you. A intriguing culture with great people to propel the story forward. The book even has an index of recipes in the back.

6.  Ocean at the End of Lane: I have had many a great discussion with a friend over this book. Now if only I can get those friends in the same room to discuss said book….

7.  The Forgotten Garden: Such a complex story with complicated characters which is a great spring board for discussions.

8.  The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: there are so many talking points available in this book. Too many for me to list here.

9. A Visit from the Goon Squad: This intricate story line with a twisty and turny plot most certainly calls for a discussion session that requires chocolate and wine.

10. State of Wonder: Such a lovely story. A journey to an exotic location and a mystery makes for a very worthwhile discussion.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. If you want to play along, post a link on their site to your blog and then post a link them from your blog.

 

2 Responses to “Top Ten Book Club Recommendations”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I’m not a very good book club person (I have a hard time sticking to “assigned” books — but if these 10 are books that your book club has or will read, then I wish I could join! Amazing list — of the ones I haven’t read, I see at least 3 that I want to read, one urgently (!), and another that’s probably not for me but which a good friend absolutely loved. (Soviet Cooking…) I agree, a good book club book needs to have enough of interest to generate a good conversation, maybe even a bit of controversy. I could see Longbourn being so much fun to discuss! A group of us at work used to have a small but steady book group, but let it go after a couple of years when we all got too busy — which is sad, because those discussion were fabulous! Great list. 🙂

    • The one that I lead right now has the prerequisite that food be in it because the book club is a branch of my slow food group. But my dream book club that would have no prerequisites would pick these books. However, I am suggesting the mastering the art of Soviet cooking to my book club because it’s such a good book


Leave a Reply

