Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

My Meatless Monday Plate: Eggplant Bolognese March 3, 2014

Filed under: Adventures in Diana's Kitchen — dianatierney3 @ 12:23 pm
Tags: ,

I may have fallen off the vegetarian train for the time being but I still enjoy a good Meatless Monday. So beginning today, as I can, I will share my vegetarian (husband approved) Meatless Monday recipes.

I personally love eggplant but your standard Eggplant Parmesan gets boring after a while.  The other day at my local sprouts I couldn’t help myself, I picked up 10 baby eggplants for $1. My next question was: What am I going to do with these?

Eggplant Bolognase

Eggplant Bolognese

10 baby eggplant or one large eggplant chopped into small pieces

3 tablespoons of Olive Oil

3 cloves garlic

1 can whole tomatoes

1 can tomato paste

1/4 cup hearty red wine

cayanne pepper to taste (optional)

Spaghetti cooked according to the package.

Directions:

Saute the eggplant and garlic in the pan until the eggplant is cooked through. If you are cooking the eggplant with the skin on  it may take a bit longer. I have found that it takes approximately 2 minutes to get it cooked through enough. (scratchy eggplant skins are down right annoying)

Add in the tomatoes, breaking them up so that they melt in the sauce, the tomato paste, red wine and cayanne pepper. I like my eggplant sauce to be on the spicy side so this ingredient is of course optional if you don’t particularly care for spicy foods.

Note:

When it comes to meat substitutes go for texture over taste. If you want the taste of the meat just eat meat, it’s the texture that you want to aim for.

 

Leave a Reply

