Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Top Ten Tuesday: My Favorite Books in the Historical Fiction Genre March 11, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — dianatierney3 @ 11:03 pm

toptentuesday

I am a history buff and there is nothing like getting lost in a book that is set within an actual bit of history. Here are my favorites:

1.  I Shall Be Near to You. I absolutely loved this book. So many wonderful historical references and embedded within actual events. Just loved it.

2.  The Book Theif. Just a wonderful story set within World War II Germany….have the tissues at the ready.

3.  The House at Riverton. I highly recommend this for people who need a Downton Abbey fix.

4.  The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. I believe I have mentioned a few times about wonderful this book is. Such a great story of an area within history that is so often overlooked.

5.  Memoirs of a Geisha. I actually had a friend who got mad at the book halfway through because she thought it was real and about halfway through she found out it was fiction. I personally think it is just a lovely story.

6.  The Constant Princes. Out of all of the Phillipa Greggory books I think this one is my favorite. It’s such a fresh look at the whole King Henry/Queen Catherine thing.

7.  Grapes of Wrath. An incredibly raw look at one family’s struggles through the Great Depression.

8. To Kill a Mockingbird the story of childhood in the divided American south.

9.  The Color Purple. Not for the faint of heart, this is a wonderful story of African Americans in the south.

10.  The Forgotten Garden. Just a wonderful story set in the early 1900’s.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. If you want to play along, post a link on their site to your blog and then post a link them from your blog.

 

2 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: My Favorite Books in the Historical Fiction Genre”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Great list! I really, really need to finally read the Kate Morton books on my shelf, and I just picked up a copy of I Shall Be Near To You. So many books here that I love — definitely one of my favorite genres as well!


Leave a Reply

