Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

What to do with Jam that Doesn’t Set March 14, 2014

Filed under: Adventures in Diana's Kitchen — dianatierney3 @ 6:51 pm
Tags:

Unset jam seems to be plaguing me this week. Having made approximately 3 dozen jars of jam I have been dealing with several jars that haven’t set. Which leaves me with the decision: do I fix it or move on?

In most cases I will fix it but in other cases I don’t fix it. For those jams that I don’t fix I use them in some tried and true recipes.

Sidecar:

IMG_0589

This Sidecar consists of soda water, light rum and strawberry jam syrup. Very delicious if I do say so myself.

Last summer I made aprium rosemary jelly and yes it does taste as amazing as it sounds but it didn’t set. So my go to, I don’t know what I am going to make for dinner tonight dish has been chicken breast cooked in white wine and aprium rosemary syrup with extra sprigs of rosemary.

There is also the possibility that one of your failures can surely be a triumph in disguise. Case in point:

I experimented by making strawberry banana jam which of course didn’t set. However, I stumbled upon the best syrup ever.

IMG_0588

When it comes cooking sometimes the best recipes occur by accident…

 

 

 

One Response to “What to do with Jam that Doesn’t Set”

  1. I never would have thought to use the unset jam in that way! I love the sidecar idea!


Leave a Reply

