Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Book Review: I Shall Be Near To You: A Novel March 19, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews — dianatierney3 @ 11:21 pm
Tags: ,

I shall be near to you

Rosetta’s husband/childhood sweetheart leaves her to join the Union side in the Civil War. Left alone and feeling alienated from those around her, she comes up with a plan to disguise herself as a man and join the army as well. This will accomplish two things 1. allow her to be closer to her husband and 2. with them both making money from the army they can afford to get the farm of their dreams. Rosetta joins the army and manages to get into the same regiment as her husband and some friends from their own town.

My thoughts:

I was expecting this to be a heavy romance but it turned out to be much more of a historical fiction piece than heavy romance. Erin Lindsay McCabe’s attention to historic detail is astounding. Though there was an actual Sara Rosetta Wakeman who dressed as a man who went to war in men’s clothing, there were many other women who did the same thing just to be with their family members (husbands. fathers, brothers etc). I have never really been a big Civil War history nerd but this has actually peaked my interest. (I’ve always been more of a Revolutionary War history girl)

As far as the story goes, I really enjoyed Rosetta. For a military wife I could relate to her 110%, it would have been more if I had actually served in the military alongside the husband. As I have stated, it’s not really a romance perse, it shows an actual devoted real marraige between a husband and wife. The supporting characters are strong interesting characters in their own right, giving us a glimpse of what life was like for the Union Soldier for the war.

I highly recommend this book to history buffs and military spouses alike.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

