Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

The Hand Me Down Groceries Challenge March 20, 2014

Filed under: Adventures in Diana's Kitchen — dianatierney3 @ 11:04 pm
Tags:

Earlier this week, my friends had to take a last minute trip so I got the groceries that wouldn’t keep for while they were gone. These were the initial supplies I had to work with:

IMG_0604

I felt like I was on Master Chef with a mystery box. Pictured above are asparagus, grape tomatoes and mushrooms. I added a few staples to the mix:

IMG_0607

I added cooked frozen shrimp olive oil and garlic. What isn’t pictured here is lemon juice and white wine.

So the official recipe:

1/2 bunch asparagus chopped

about 9 mushrooms sliced

grape tomatoes chopped in half

1/4 cup white wine

2 tablespoons Olive Oil

3 healthy tablespoons of lemon juice

3 cloves of garlic.

1 package spaghetti cooked per the package.

Instructions:

Saute the garlic in the olive oil for about 2 to 3 minutes.

Add the Asparagus and cook until the asparagus is tender but still crisp (basically you can actually bit into it without feeling like you are chewing bark) about 5 minutes or so.

Add the tomatoes and mushrooms let them cook for about a minute or so then add the shrimp.

Add the wine and lemon, making sure to get the good stuff from the bottom of the pan.

Saute for about 10 minutes while the shrimp and veggies are cooked through.

And this is what you get:

IMG_0609

 

 

 

5 Responses to “The Hand Me Down Groceries Challenge”

  1. M. J. Joachim Says:

    It’s amazing what you can do with a few simple ingredients. That looks absolutely delicious.
    MJ, A to Z Challenge Co-Host
    Writing Tips
    Effectively Human
    Lots of Crochet Stitches

    • Thank you! It’s one of my biggest arguments to get people cooking with real food. It doesn’t always take hours, this was just over a half hour because I was making it up as I went. And it can be cost effective as well.

  2. Looks delicious. I’m still trying to decide if my family can love asparagus enough for me to grow it in my garden, so the more recipes I have to test, the better. Thanks.

    • My husband has a funny story about that. When he was a kid he didn’t like asparagus but his dad did. So his dad one night made him eat asparagus till he liked it. If he said he didn’t like it his dad was like oh well then you need to try some more, if he he said he liked it he was like great have some more. So long story short he still likes it. I have been trying to grow it in my garden as well but it takes a few years for it to really get harvestable. I think I am on year 3..

    • Btw, glad you liked the recipe!


Leave a Reply

