Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

Top Ten Bookish Bucket List Items March 24, 2014

Filed under: Top Ten Tuesdays — dianatierney3 @ 11:35 pm
Tags:

toptentuesday

 

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is Top Ten Bookish Bucket List Items. I love bucket list. The husband and I have had a bucket list for years that we have worked towards checking items off of it. The husband’s is a bit more extensive than mine. His has involved certain fish. One of his major ones was going to all of the habitable continents, one of mine was going to Macchu Picchu. When we got off the plane in Lima, Peru he said “Hey honey do you hear that?” I looked around and was like “No what is it?” He said “It’s the sound of an item falling off of my bucket list.”

When we were in Macchu Picchu I found a lovely little spot to look out over the valley, watch the tourists mill about, small birds fluttering about (probably eating all of the butterflies that should have been in the butterfly house…but I digress) and just meditated on the importance of where I was.

DSC_0625

I don’t have many bookish bucket list items parse. There are two major ones that are bundled in with my overall bucket list. The first of which is reading all of the books on the Pulitzer Prize fiction list. There are approximately 85 books on the list, theoretically growing every year. Some years there are none awarded with the prize as was the case in 2012. so this will be a bucket list item I will continue with for the rest of my life. Where am I at? I have read 13 so far and am working on my 14th one (The Shipping News).

The other major Bookish Bucket List Item was to read all of the Shakespeare plays. I am about halfway there and getting ready to read “The play that must not be named” fairly soon.

So that’s it, that’s my Bookish Bucket list. There isn’t much there, probably because what is there is pretty hefty in and of itself. Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. If you want to play along, post a link on their site to your blog and then post a link them from your blog.

 

9 Responses to “Top Ten Bookish Bucket List Items”

  1. Rimsha Says:

    Great post I always want visit Peru too it’s soo beautiful in the pictures can’t imagine how amazingly beautiful it must be in real life!
    My TTT
    Rimsha@Ramblings of a Bookworm

  2. Great post 🙂 I am trying to catch up with all my reading on my long TBR list. One day I’ll read them all and it won’t be so big 🙂
    My TTT: http://www.bookythoughtsandme.com/top-ten-things-bookish-bucket-list/

  3. Did you get altitude sickness in Machu? So high a place…
    Isn’t it grand we have so many wonderful books to put on each of our bookish bucket lists, though.
    A-Z Challenge partner, Christine London here—just dropping by to see if the madness has yet set in (even before we begin) What is “A” for? Hmm…
    Hope to see you around the A-Z April world.
    Christine

    • Unfortunately I did while trying to do the hike but I am glad I was able to still see Macchu Picchu. You actually have to go down to get to it, there is a train though that we were ale to take instead of hiking.

      The madness is just starting to set in. I keep thinking I still have time to write more posts.

  4. Hi 🙂
    “The play that must not be named” That only makes me want to needle you about what it is. I have several Shakespeare books but so far, I’ve only really finished three. 😉
    I sort of have a yet-to-be-written-down bucket list myself, although I won’t necessarily call it a bucket list.

  5. Oops, sorry I didn’t introduce myself. I got here because of the A to Z Challenge, just to clear any confusion. Can’t seem to see your A post yet, though…?


Leave a Reply

