Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

A to Z Blogging Challenge Day 1: A is for Alice in Wonderland April 1, 2014

Filed under: A to Z Blogging Challenge 2014 — dianatierney3 @ 7:20 am

A

Alice in Wonderland is one of the most iconic children’s books in modern culture. I always find it incredibly frustrating when someone proclaims to be an Alice in Wonderland fan but has never read the books. I am not intending this to sound hipster but like a glacier the movie only shows a small chunk of what is actually going on in the story. There is SO much more in the books beyond what we see in the movies and just like everything else in life the book is so much better than the movie.
The cartoon is really mostly taken from through the looking glass. The Togi woods, the garden, Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum are all in through the looking glass. While the Queen of Hearts and the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party are a part of the Adventures in Wonderland.
One of the common misconceptions that is perpetuated in Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland is that the Queen of Hearts is the same as the Red Queen. They are in fact quite different. The Red and White Queens are chess pieces while the Queen of Hearts is naturally based on cards.
I always loved The Lion and the Unicorn scene in the book.  Lol I don’t know why but ever since I was kid I have rooted for the Unicorn…
The Lion and the Unicorn were fighting for the crown
The Lion beat the Unicorn all round the town.
Some gave them white bread, some gave them brown;
Some gave them plum-cake and drummed them out of town.
Of course this is based on old English history but in the book the poem is taken quite literally, culminating in Alice having to divide up the cake before they are all drummed out of the town, quite literally.
The books are a quirky read and definitely worth the time. What makes this one of my favorites is that the world that Alice is in is just so odd. It often reminds that we shouldn’t take life so seriously, that the logic of a child is all that is needed to make it through life.

Today is the first day of the A to Z Challenge. I will be taking a pause from all my other regular postings though I will be trying to merge a few together throughout the month. Here is the schedule I will be following:

APRIL-CALENDAR [2014] - updated

What more will I be blogging about? Tune in to find out!

 

13 Responses to “A to Z Blogging Challenge Day 1: A is for Alice in Wonderland”

  1. I should re-read this book, it’s been so long!

  2. lysademorest Says:

    One of my favorite incarnations of Alice is SyFy’s Alice. Loosely based and modern, but it plays a lot on emotion.

  3. I’ve never really read the book, so I really appreciate this brief book review. Thanks for the clarifications!!!

    • It’s hard to give a full book review because each book is so short. But I always feel like this is one of those stories where the movies over take the book and the original story gets lost, like Peter Pan.

      • Oh, I have a pet peeve when it comes to this, the Little Mermaid animation. Soooo WRONG.

      • Omg I couldn’t agree more! The little mermaid is supposed to be a tragedy!!!

      • AND they had the nerve to come up with Part Two that focuses on the mermaid’s young daughter! WHAT young daughter?????
        My point is this: If they wanted to practically totally change a story, why didn’t they just create something new altogether? I was so mad at this that in my review of a totally different book, the Hunchback of Notre Dame, I really had to squeeze this little rant in. LOL!!!!

      • I got into an argument with my sister once about telling tragedies in children’s stories. I was for it but she felt they should be protected.

      • Oh, I actually wrote my opinion on that. In the review I mentioned, I said, ” I grew up watching Disney, but quite frankly, it has this annoying knack of messing up the literary classics. Like The Little Mermaid living happily ever-after with her Prince, and even having a spawn in the sequel! I’m surprised there’s even a sequel. That’s classic murder, to be figurative and blunt about it…it’s an insult to the genius of Hans Christian Andersen not to kill the little mermaid in the end. I’m all for happy endings to keep viewing minors smiling and trauma-free, but then give it a whole new title and leave the classics alone!”

  4. Aww I love that you are doing this and can’t wait to see the rest of the alphabet! 😀

  5. I have a confession to make. I never read the book. But it sounds like I need to remedy that, soon.

  6. Elle Says:

    There was one movie version of Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass that was done in the mid 80′s with a host of famous people as characters. I think it’s the closest movie to the book that I’ve ever seen. As for me, I’m particular to the Walrus and the Carpenter. Elle @ Erratic Project Junkie


Leave a Reply

