Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

A to Z Blog Challenge: {D}octor Who…Duh… April 4, 2014

Filed under: A to Z Blogging Challenge 2014,The Doctor — dianatierney3 @ 11:06 pm
Tags: ,

D

 

What would a favorite things theme be without Doctor Who? For those people who aren’t familiar with Doctor Who or why those of us who love the show, really love the show. Here are few things to consider (and some of the argument points I used to get my friends into the show)

Dr who vs chuck

  • It’s part science fiction part fantasy. Yeah you have the wibbly wobbly timey wimey space science stuff the show is about a guy who shows up and whisks people away on an adventure. However, instead of a horse he has a Blue Phone Booth…well sometimes there’s a horse ….
  • British Humor…need I say more?

Rose Tyler

  • Rose Tyler

River Song

  • River Song

Clara

  • Clara Oswald

Amy Pond

  • Amy Pond
  • Epicness. The show has been on for 50 years. The originals are very different from the new series. You can almost say that he is like the science fiction version of James Bond, except he doesn’t like martini’s and he has a sonic screw driver.

the doctors

  • As much as there are adult elements to the stories, this is very much a family show. On a Saturday night you can sit down with your kids, a bowl of popcorn and have an hour of family time. There aren’t many shows out there that have this element anymore.
  • If I had to pick a central theme to the show I would say hope and friendship.
  • And did I mention the Tardis which stands for Time and Relative Dimension in Space? It can go anywhere in time and space, which just sparks the imagination of history nerds and space geeks alike.
  • If you love B Movies, Doctor Who has some of the best B Movie Villains and I know my B movie Villains, case in point:Ace and the Dalek

So what are you still doing reading this? Get on Netflix, Amazon or Hulu and start watching….

10th doctor

For those of you out there who are Doctor Who fans, what are some of your favorite things about the show?

 

4 Responses to “A to Z Blog Challenge: {D}octor Who…Duh…”

  1. I only recently started watching it on Netflix as it kept coming up as a recommendation but I am loving it so far. I also like that it has a different setting every episode so it not more of the same thing like other shows.
    Sean at His and Her Hobbies

  2. My office mates and social media contacts watch this. I’d like to watch this, but it’s just not happening for now. I tend to watch shows at my own pace anyway 😉

  3. I can’t even begin to list all the things that I love about Doctor Who!


Leave a Reply

