Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

A to Z Blogging Challenge: {H}ockey April 9, 2014

Filed under: A to Z Blogging Challenge 2014 — dianatierney3 @ 10:44 pm
Tags:

Hockey seems completely lawless and, therefore, inexplicably sexy.~ Rachel Nichols

H

I love hockey. Perhaps its because I grew up on the east coast, or perhaps it’s because I love the fast paced speed and precision that is the game. It’s a rough game, fighting is common but it’s also a game of intense coordination. And yes and hockey players are incredibly sexy.

If you follow me you will see this hashtag quite often Old Time Hockey Like Eddie Shore frankly because I love the Hanson brothers. Likewise, Slap Shot is one is one of the few sporting movies that I really like. And let’s face it we need more Old Time Hockey in our lives.

Old time hockey

Tonight’s blog post was late because I had to watch my team, the Ducks win the division title. I liked the Ducks shortly after I meeting my husband (a hockey player as well as a fan) and rediscovered the enjoyment I had in watching the game and following the New Jersey Devils when they were an AHL team in my hometown in New York. It’s been a love ever since I came back into the hockey fold. Including driving 3 hours from Temple, Texas to watch the nearest NHL team, the Dallas Stars Play against my ducks.

So this coming play off season you will be seeing me rooting for my Ducks quite a bit.

 

7 Responses to “A to Z Blogging Challenge: {H}ockey”

  1. Elle Says:

    I love hockey as well. Although I now have to rethink our friendship. I don’t know if I can associate with a Ducks fan… I’m a Penguins girl.Elle @ Erratic Project Junkie

    • Hahaha well at least you aren’t a red wings fan. But the penguins are a pretty good team. I would put them in my top ten teams I could root for list 😉 but if I can still be friends with a Blackhawks fan, we can still be friends 😀

  2. I’ve always loved hockey, but never really been able to get into it–too little time for watching. I always wanted to play, or at least to be able to skate well enough to play.

  3. Jemima Pett Says:

    Pretty much outside my zone of awareness, but then most US sports are 🙂 Hope things are ok with you – don’t give up!
    Jemima
    #TeamDamyanti
    Blogging from Alpha to Zulu in April

  4. We have the Ducks AHL team here in Norfolk, VA. We usually go a few times a year to see them and its always been a good time. Never been to a NHL game as the nearest team is 4 hours away in DC.
    Sean at His and Her Hobbies


Leave a Reply

