Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

A to Z Blogging Challenge: {L}lamas!!! April 14, 2014

Filed under: A to Z Blogging Challenge 2014 — dianatierney3 @ 9:29 pm
Tags: ,

L

From the moment the husband and I got on the plane a few years back to go to Peru I invented a game, it was called “Spot the Llama” where I pointed out every single Llama and Alpaca that we came across. I kept this up so much that our guide made a special detour just for me so that I could play with some Alpacas and hopefully get it out of my system.

DSC_0131

Aaaand it didn’t. Next to our day at Macchu Picchu I believe this was the highlight of the trip. It was a spot where tourists such as myself could wander through petting and feeding these adorable critters.

DSC_0162 DSC_0142 DSC_0132

The location is a cooperative, where local women get together to take care of the Alpacas and Llamas, create crafts and demonstrate native arts.

DSC_0177

But why do I love these adorable critters?

Well for one they produce my favorite yarn to work with. It’s similar to wool but it’s much softer and no where near as scratchy. Now this brings me to an important point. All Alpacas are Llamas but not all Llamas are Alpacas.

And look at this face how can you not love it?

DSC_0137

On my dream ranch that I will one day have (when I win the lotto) I dream of having a handful of these guys so that I can make my own yarn. There must be on that looks like this:

DSC_0144

And I shall name him Ringo….

In addition to making yarn, there are all these Alpaca shows much like dog shows. It’s a whole cool Alpaca World.

DSC_0155

 

One Response to “A to Z Blogging Challenge: {L}lamas!!!”

  1. Ahh Llamas are so cute! And now that I’m totally quoting “The Emperor’s New Groove” at each picture and saying “Llama face!!”


Leave a Reply

