Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

A to Z Blogging Challenge: {M}anicotti April 14, 2014

Filed under: A to Z Blogging Challenge 2014 — dianatierney3 @ 10:47 pm
Tags: ,

M

A few weeks ago the husband asked me what was for dinner.

Me, shrugging my shoulders: Pasta

The husband: Ok, that doesn’t narrow things down for me…at least not in this house.

Of course for a month long list of all the geeky things that make my world go around I HAD to include God’s gift to the culinary world: Pasta.

Of all the different types of pastas out there, I have to say Manicotti is my favorite. It’s my go to “I want to entertain but not put that much effort into a dish all the while looking like a professional culinary chef”

It also made a wonderful Meatless Monday because frankly everyone deserves a Monday or two to splurge on carbs…

IMG_0659

Ingredients:

1 package of manicotti

1.5 cups of ricotta

1/2 cup of mozzarella or other Italian cheese blend, I prefer the Italian blend from Trader Joe’s. (with about another 1/2 cup or so set aside)

1/4 cup parmesan

1/2 package frozen spinach

1 egg

Salt, pepper, garlic powder

generous amounts of Spaghetti sauce

Directions:

In a separate bowl combine the ricotta, mozzarella, and parmesan. Season with the salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste. Then mix in the frozen spinach and egg. The rule of thumb I like to use here is 1 egg for every 1.5 cup of ricotta. It comes in handy if you are feeding a lot of people. The mixture needs to feel like very soft dough but not runny. It should look something like this:

IMG_0655

Now set it aside while you tend to the pasta. Whatever you do, don’t cook it all the way. Cook for about 2 to 3 minutes until the noodles are soft but not cooked through. You want them to still be firm so that you can stuff the filling in them. Once the pasta is finished go ahead and stuff it with the cheesy goodness mixture.

IMG_0656

The darker colored noodles are about the way your pasta should look. The lighter ones are cooked too long and didn’t hold together as well. Cover the pasta with sauce bake in the oven at 375 for 15 minutes. Remove from oven and top generously with cheese and cook for another 15 to 20 minutes until it is cooked through and looks like this:

IMG_0658

 

 

 

7 Responses to “A to Z Blogging Challenge: {M}anicotti”

  1. I love Manicotti! My mom would go to the local Italian store and get fresh made manicotti and stuffed shells and we would have them as an appetizer for Christmas and Easter dinner. Delicious! I’ve never made them from scratch, but maybe I should give it a go.
    ~Katie
    TheCyborgMom
    Visual Proof

    • And just in time for easter… for the recipe pictured here I used jarred sauce just because I didn’t have the time to make my sauce. But with a jarred sauce it took me roughly 45 minutes from start to finish so it’s really not a complicated dish. I personally find it much easier than lasagna.

  2. Oh my that looks so yummy! I am not a cook by any means, but that looks fairly easy and delicious!

  3. Oh, that looks SO good. Saving this for later use. Thank you.
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

  4. I love manicotti! Hubby doesn’t like spinach at all, though, and I do have a spinach-less recipe for manicotti that I make occasionally, but I think I’ll have to try the ones with spinach sometime. Because I love spinach.


Leave a Reply

