Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

A to Z Blogging Challenge: {Q}uintessential Classic Movies April 21, 2014

Filed under: A to Z Blogging Challenge 2014 — dianatierney3 @ 8:19 pm
Tags:

Q

 

When I was a kid I used to watch classic movies with my grandmother. We’d watch the movies and she would tell me stories from her childhood. Turner Classic Movies and the weather channel were the two most viewed channels on her television. It instilled my love of movies and ofcourse, the classics.

These are my quintessential classic movies that everyone should watch.

  1. Casablanca. “Play it again Sam” a wonderfully doomed romance, exotic location and just classic golden Hollywood.
  2. The little Princess. This movie is every little girl’s dream. This was one of mine and my grandmother’s favorite movies to watch. It is also, by far, the best Shirley Temple movie. If you are to only watch one of her movies, that’s the one to watch.
  3. White Christmas. This movie is as much a Christmas tradition as “A Christmas Story” or the “Grinch.” Bring a whole Broadway show up to a sleepy ski resort in Vermont? Sure! Especially if you are Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye…
  4. Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Really any Audrey Hepburn movie but this is one of her best. The book by the way is fantastic. It still resonates to today.
  5. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Just an all around, warm fuzzies in the belly feel good movie.
  6. Any Charlie Chaplin Movie.
  7. Meet Me In St. Louis. Following the saga of a family that finds out they have to move over the course of the year is full of drama and laughs and Judy Garland singing….Speaking of Judy…
  8. The Wizard of OZ a timeless classic.
  9. Funny Face. Ok so as I mentioned above any Audrey Hepburn movie would be good to watch but this one is another one that deserves special mention. An impromptu photo shoot leads an average girl into the world of high end modeling….in Paris…with Fred Astair…
  10. Singing In the Rain because random singing and dance scenes are awesome.
 

4 Responses to “A to Z Blogging Challenge: {Q}uintessential Classic Movies”

  1. I adore all of these that I’ve seen! I’m a huge glamor age of hollywood sort of fan and I just love classic film! Believe it or not, I’ve never watched Breakfast at Tiffany’s though! I need to remedy that asap! White Christmas is a must in my house too! Even moreso than It’s a Wonderful Life!

  2. Just watched City Lights a couple weeks ago, Chaplin’s a genius. Hepburn’s dance scene in Funny Face is one of the best screen dances ever. She’s like a spaztastic butterfly. You should read my first A to Z post: http://robertlampros.com/04/01/2014/a-is-for-alfred-hitchcock/

  3. Elle Says:

    You’ve picked some good ones here. I love Audrey Hepburn. She’s just wonderful. Quirky and beautiful. A great combination. I enjoy watching classics myself, but there is one that I have never made it through…Dr. Zhivago. My husband and I have tried 3 separate times to watch it, but it always seems to be late at night and we inevitably get sleepy. One of these days it will happen… Elle @ Erratic Project Junkie


Leave a Reply

