Strahbary's Fields

A California Girl's Place for all things Geek Chic

A to Z Blogging Challenge: {W}hedon’s Universe April 27, 2014

Filed under: A to Z Blogging Challenge 2014 — dianatierney3 @ 10:35 pm
Tags: ,

W

 

As far as I am concerned Joss Wheden could write the ingredients to shampoo and I would be enthralled. A movie about grass growing, written by Joss Wheden?? Sweet! I’m in.

His television shows and movies have created some of the best heroines in modern movies. Case in point: Zoe, Buffy, Melinda May and I am sure the list goes on and on. If anyone were to bust the stereotype that female action stars can’t bring in the big bucks at the movie theaters, he would be the one to do it.

Another great thing about his movies that he creates a fantastic Anti-Hero (See Firefly or Doctor Horrible’s Sing Along for an example of this).  His heroes are compelling and flawed and so very incredibly human that we can’t help but fall in love with them.

Whether it’s because he is a fanboy himself or that he just has a brilliant way of writing, I don’t care. He’s good and his style works.

What’s your favorite Joss Wheden creation?

 

6 Responses to “A to Z Blogging Challenge: {W}hedon’s Universe”

  1. Ahhhhh you are speaking my language. Joss Whedon is my hero! I would LOVE to see what he could do with a Wonder Woman movie! Buffy hands down is my all time favorite Whedon character. But there are SO SO many more! Winifred “Fred” Burkle, Zoe from Firefly, Kaylee from Firefly, Cordelia (but only from Angel), Chloe from Agents of Shield, Maria Hill, Willow from Buffy, Penny from Doctor Horrible, and even Fray from the comics! Too many to name!

    • Lol yes! I was running out of brain power by the time I got the ones I had listed. I would be so so very happy if he did wonder woman but we all know how DC feels about their female leads. I great alternative though would be if he did a Black Widow movie….

  2. cjswriting Says:

    Loki in Avengers. Oh wait that doesn’t count. Really. But I do love Loki. Well, more accurately, Tom Hiddleston. But I am rambling. 🙂 Whedon got my J post. With his quotes. He’s greatness
    Ok gotta go figure out something for X.
    Have a great A to Z month!

  3. Linda :) Says:

    Spike and Drusilla are my favorite… and I so miss Firefly… It was hilarious on Castle when Castle dressed in his Firefly costume and his daughter told him “it’s been five years Dad, let it go”… visiting via the A to Z challenge… 🙂

  4. I will have to check the list of his works, but Buffy is surely one of them.


Leave a Reply

